Facebook is Boring

I recently deactivated my Facebook account. I got tired of reading insignificant details about the lives of people I seldom see. Who cares if Bob ate a steak dinner tonight? And the quizzes were annoying. Folks must be really bored. Well, it seems I’m not alone. The New York Times published an article entitled “Facebook Exodus” which reports that “while people are still joining Facebook and compulsively visiting the site, a small but noticeable group are fleeing — some of them ostentatiously.”

See also this Newsweek story: You Can’t Friend Me, I Quit! The author exclaims “When I think about all the hours I wasted this past year on Facebook, and imagine the good I could have done instead, it depresses me.”

9 thoughts on “Facebook is Boring

  1. Facebook is Boring « From Within – The Facebook News

  2. I recently joined Facebook and think it’s crap. I doubt I’ll continue with it much this year tbh.
    MySpace imo is alot better and easier.

  3. so true. facebook is terrible. all social sites are just downright boring, and a big waste of time. i mean honestly, all the stupid and pointless things that facebook would send me. the quizzes, spam mail, games, and etc. it is bad. facebook will soon be dead, just like myspace is now. all social sites will come to an end soon.

  4. Facebook is very boring! I had to permanently delete my account, there is just no point in me having one whatsoever. The site is soooooo boring and a big waste of time!

  5. I just signed on to facebook last week because everybody claim it was all that. I just don’t see it I find it very boring and I am glad to see I am not the only one that thinks this way.

  6. It’s so dumb.. I have been trying to see the “point” since others were urging me to join them there. But, I don’t get it.. there is nothing there for me since I prefer to have stimulating discussions and actual conversations. Instead, one person makes a comment and later, others say they “like it” or leave a short message. Ho-hum. I compare this to greeting others with “hi – how are you?” as we pass by.

    And “friends”.. who has or really wants to have the “friendship” of several, not to mention HUNDREDS of others anyway and what motivates the need for this? It’s enough to regularly communicate and spend time with people we actually know, enjoy and appreciate. Then, the idea is sold to “connect with old friends”, yet maybe some “old friends” are just that and not necessarily someone we need to reconnect with or feel obligated to respond to.

    I think this is just another indicator of how detached and superficial things have become, with it replacing real communication and the development of actual relationships, encouraging a weak excuse for and a way to pass time, instead.

  7. Facebook creeps me out. Regular (boring, in my opinion) dudes looking for their 15mins with staged photos and rediculous “insights” into the world. If you really want to be famous and have lots of “friends” hone your talent and work – facebook is feeding narcissism.

  8. I totally agree…”FACEBOOK SUCKS” but one thing i don’t get is ‘why most people do not see that.
    I mean…really…who gives a darn if are going shopping,gazing at the stars,having grilled chicken and so on.
    People waste alot of time on useless end-less discussions.The time wasted on facebook can be used for say,’studying(advancing your career),more working hours for people who get paid on time rate basis,playing golf and a lot more stuff.c’mon…

  9. It just doesn’t interest me.

    I tried using it but I was so bored by it. Even putting something up there about myself was boring. It beats me why so many people are attracted to Facebook and Twitter. They’re tedious websites.

    Shocking of all is that people actually put up their real personal details for anyone to see.

Leave a Reply

